About the Zoo Society

The Zoo Society is a 501(c)3 non-profit fundraising organization whose purpose is to lend financial support to Point Defiance Zoo & Aquarium.

The Zoo Society generates support for Zoo and Aquarium exhibits, education programs, scientific re-search, conservation activities, animal husbandry and care, capital projects and resources.

Funds for programs are generated through annual fund gifts, grants, individual donations, corporate sponsorships and fund raising events. Contributions can also be made to the Zoo Society Endowment Fund.

View The Zoo Society’s Donor Privacy Policy (PDF).

Our Vision

The Zoo Society engages our community in support of the Point Defiance Zoo & Aquarium’s education, conservation, research and preservation efforts through the Pacific NW, the Pacific Rim and beyond.

Our mission

To provide and promote financial, volunteer and community support to the Point Defiance Zoo & Aquarium. The Zoo Society supports PDZA in their efforts to promote responsible stewardship of earth’s limited resources through education, conservation, research, preservation and recreational opportunities.

Board of Directors

    • President

      Sue Mauermann

    • Vice President

      Heather Parkinson-Firestine

    • Secretary

      David Smith

    • Treasurer

      Cathy Early

    Zoo Society Staff

    • Larry Norvell

      Executive Director

    • Lisa Johnson

      Senior Development Director

    • Laura Badeaux

      Executive Assistant & Fundraising Associate

    Board of Directors Cont.

    • Pamela Baade
    • Kim Burkes
    • Hartleigh Caine
    • Susan Caulkins
    • Michael Gintz
    • John Guadnola
    • Jean Jackman
    • Mike McGuire
    • Cameron Moorehead
    • Josiah Penalver, MD
    • Lisa Peterman
    • Matthew Schemp
    • Dr. Ric Torgerson
    • Karen Veitenhans